Memories… (part 2)

I am sitting at a table in my living room, with my new laptop teaching myself the programming language C# as a self development project. The old laptop having served me well eventually gave up the ghost and having had a few attempts to rescue the poor thing, I decided to retire it permanently.

This created a problem though as I was used to programming in Delphi 7. Suddenly, Delphi 7, although it would run & compile happily with native Delphi code, as soon as I added any 3rd party component  it would crash. I now had to find an alternative. I looked around the web and saw Visual Studio 2012 with C# express & Visual Basic Express. I downloaded it and registered with Microsoft to obtain a free License, and now I’m happily working through stuff like “String Manipulation techniques”, “Handling Arrays – single- and multi-dimensional” and so on…

One of the exercises in the tutorial is to load a picture into a picture component. I created the application with a picture holder component and a single button. I ran the program and clicked the button to find a picture and this took me to the archived photos of my previous trips to the Kruger National Park…I found these photos…The memories came flooding back…

…of the time that we saw the pride of lions in the dry river bed near Shingwedzi restcamp. It was early in the morning. hardly enough light to see the Lions. We shone torches at them and saw their eyes reflecting in the torchlight. There were 2 males – 1 huge with a black tinted mane, and 1 a bit younger. Three females, one of them pregnant, were lying around while 4 young cubs were cavorting around, jumping on the adults backs – digging their little claws into the skin – running up and down the steep and sandy river bank…

…of the time that I was chatting to a fellow camper in Punda Maria restcamp. Watching him walk away after our chat and him nearly getting tagged by a Mozambique Spitting Cobra…

…of the time that we were out driving around the southern parts of Kruger and were about 1.5  hours away from the Pretoriuskop restcamp, where our tent was standing open with my laptop and cellphone on the floor busy charging. It started clouding over and not long after that it started raining. It didn’t rain, it was a downpour. I realised that my laptop and cellphone were in danger of being drowned so we raced back to camp at the maximum speed allowed for tar roads in Kruger – 50 kph. It got so dark that I had to turn the headlights on to be able to see the road. We must have been 3 km’s away from the camp when suddenly my wife was startled and got such a fright she nearly ended up on my lap. Instinctively I swerved the vehicle to the right and  immediately lost speed dramatically as I had the car in 5th gear. I straightened the car into the right direction, geared down and got momentum back again, When I felt we were ok, I looked back to see a juvenile Rhino chasing us. Behind the baby Rhino was the mother trundling along unconcernedly. We worked out later that the pair of Rhino were wanting to cross the road and arrived at the crossing point at the same time we did. It was a very near miss. The baby Rhino would have T-boned our vehicle and would probably have suffered bad injury. I think though that the car would have come off second best…

…of the time that we saw a pack of Hyena prancing around an elephant skull which was lying close to a watering hole near the Mopani Restcamp…

…of the time we saw a Pangolin (armoured ant-eater) crossing the road ahead of us…

…of the time we saw an elephant near Shingwedzi Restcamp with tusks that were nearly dragging on the ground. He was obviously very old. He was helped by another younger elephant to descend a steep river bank to get to the scattered pools of water in the otherwise dry river bed…

…of the trip around Letaba’s riverine area, and seeing the wonderful variety of birds.

There is so much to remember, but unfortunately I cannot recount all of it here in this blog.

Perhaps in another blog at another time I will include a few more of my memories…

Leave a Reply

