Post Processing Fever

This is an occupational hazard that Professional Photographers occasionally incur. It is a specialized version of Cabin Fever.

Wedding videos, and photo-shoots of large events take their toll. For a small one-man business there is no-one else but the small one-man business owner to pick up the post processing work – so I get the job every time.

Editing to ensure good quality photos for the client is essential. A good photographer will aim to get the shot right the 1st time in camera. No “photoshop-ing” is the preferred method. I know of some photographers that will refuse to do any “Photoshop” work even if requested by the client to do so. It is a stance I support.

For me the photograph must tell a story, and many times the facial expression (wrinkles and all) are part of the character, the unique ID,  of the person being photographed. I have done some Photoshop work, but that would mostly be to crop out some unwanted detail, or a blemish on a background wall. Only once, when starting out with my portraiture work, did I attempt to improve the appearance of a client only to incur her wrath – and rightly so. I have not done that again. But I digress…

I found myself stuck behind my desk editing video, and stills from 2 separate events and after 2 days of burning CD’s,  printing 10×15 prints, defining scene markers in the video, deleting them, splitting the video to remove unwanted footage, redefining scene markers, running the video creation software, I had had enough. I had to get out.

So Saturday morning we got into the Toyota and with cameras, lenses and tripod packed we set off into the countryside .

Recently I had taken some photos of scrap cars using the HDR (High Dynamic Range) technique. These are now framed and on my living room wall. I want to do more of that sort of work, with abandoned wrecks standing in a field alongside a country road. And that is what we set out to do.

And found nothing of the sort!

Either the wreck removal services are extremely efficient to remove wreckage from the roadside or farmers have cleaned up their property. Not a hint of a rusting tractor over it’s sell-by date. No rusting farm implements lying anywhere close to the roadside. Or maybe we just took the wrong route. I do not know…

The day was not a complete loss however. We did come across a few scenes that warranted a stop in a safe place and a walk to get the right perspective. Hat on to avoid sunburn, camera in hand walking gingerly through the recently cut roadside grasses that have not yet been picked up. Occasionally losing my footing on uneven ground. Finally being rewarded with a view that is spectacular…

I do want to appeal to anyone that knows of an abandoned wreck standing in a field rusting, be it car, truck or tractor, please drop me a line by commenting on this blog to let me know the whereabouts. You will make my day.

This will be the last blog for 2012. I will resume this activity in January. Have a wonderful holiday season, a happy new year and safe driving wherever you go!

Enjoy the photos!

Leave a Reply

