Female of the species…

…is more deadly than the male. A week or so ago I found this female Rain Spider eating her mate… The location was under my car-port roof at the top of my studio door. The next morning all that was left was the empty shell of the poor male.

Today I find a Rain Spider female building her nest. This nest will eventually be as big as a man’s fist.

I’d like to think it is the same spider…but I don’t really know. The location of this nest is about 2 meters from the first site, so it is possible.

The 2nd photo is an HDR image. For the techno buffs, the photo details are f8, 1/125s, ISO 640 bracketed with 2 shots -0.3 and +0.3. I combined these 3 images in HDR software.The only tweaking I did was to add more black attribute, a bit of micro smoothing and some de-saturation of the shadowy areas.

3 thoughts on “Female of the species…

Leave a Reply

